Posters

DE_Berlin_1978_05_11_Konzert_John_Tchicai_FMPIn 2015 the Jazzinstitut will present parts of its poster collection to the public.

It took a while, but with the help of our volunteer Rolf Schäfer we finally managed to digitize most of the posters archived in our collection and enter them into a database.

The poster collection at the Jazzinstitut Darmstadt comprises around 2,000 prints/sheets from all around the world, however with a clear focus on Germany and Europe after 1945. More than 500 of these posters document jazz life in Darmstadt, Frankfurt and the Rhein-Main region.

There are posters designed by well-known artists, posters with an innovative design, whole festival series of posters, posters for clubs, record label editions and many other examples for the genre, documenting a rich and lively jazz scene. The design approach varies over the decades; it documents changes both in design taste and trends, but also changes in the music and the music’s aesthetic perception.

Jazz posters sometimes are artists’ posters, most of all, though, they are advertising art, a fact which makes even a seemingly non-designed cardboard used by a club to inform their clientele of the necessary concert dates a sociological sample of this specific jazz scene.

Plakate

DE_Berlin_1978_05_11_Konzert_John_Tchicai_FMP2015 präsentiert das Jazzinstitut erstmalig seine Plakatsammlung der Öffentlichkeit.

In einem Kraftakt und mit intensiver Unterstützung unseres ehrenamtlichen Mitarbeiters Rolf Schäfer ist es nunmehr gelungen, einen großen Teil der im Jazzinstitut vorhandenen Plakate zu digitalisieren und in einer Datenbank zu erfassen.

Die Plakatsammlung des Jazzinstituts Darmstadt umfasst ca. 2.000 Plakate nationaler und internationaler Art mit dem Schwerpunkt Deutschland und Europa nach 1945. Mit über 500 Exemplaren von Werbeträgern aus Darmstadt und Frankfurt ist die Rhein-Main-Region in besonders hohem Maße vertreten.

Vorhanden sind Blätter bekannter Künstler und innovativer Gestaltung, Festivalreihen, Club-Poster, Gesamtplakateditionen bestimmter Labels aber auch viele Plakate des „alltäglichen“ Jazzgeschäfts. Die künstlerischen und grafischen Wege variieren in Stil und Ausführung über die Jahrzehnte und sind oftmals künstlerischer oder typographischer Spiegel des herrschenden Zeitgeschmacks, sowohl der Musik als auch des gedruckten ästhetischen Empfindens.

Jazzplakate sind nicht nur Künstlerplakate, sondern in erster Linie auch immer Gebrauchsgrafik. In äußerster Konsequenz wird auch der ungestaltete Karton eines Clubs mit den notwendigsten Konzertinformationen zum soziologischen Spiegel dieser bestimmten Jazzszene.