Using the archive

Hotclub-OrdnerWe are happy that you will visit the Jazzinstitut Darmstadt for your research project. In order to make your stay here as effective as possible, we would like to give you some information about how to use our collections.

The Jazzinstitut holds a major archive with books, periodicals, correspondence, personal papers, photographs, films, recordings of all sorts and much more documenting jazz history from the beginning to the present. We will make all of the material available for your research, however, you are well advised to prepare yourself for your visit.

Our opening hours are Monday, Tuesday and Thursday from 10am to 5pm, Friday from 10am to 2pm. Usually we are open on Wednesday, however this is the day we might choose to plan external appointments. If we are present (which usually is the case), we will be happy to have you come by on Wednesdays as well. However, we cannot guarantee open Wednesdays long-term, thus you should ask us while you are here.

A major preparation would be asking us for Jazz Index excerpts on the specific subject you are researching. Our Jazz Index is a bibliographic database which covers a substantial part especially of our periodical collection, but also most of the books as well as other sources in our archive. Please send us an e-mail in advance to your visit, telling us the names of musicians or subjects you are researching and we will respond with the respective Jazz Index excerpts. Don’t forget to bring either a printout or a digital version of the Jazz Index for reference during your time here. This service is free of charge.

While we do not allow coats, jackets or bags to be taken into the archival rooms, you will be allowed to take pen and paper as well as a computer and/or a digital camera. We have a supervised area where you can store your bags and coats.

Of course, we have a xerox machine in our archive, however, we generally will make copies on demand only – so it’s us who will press the button, and you will have to pay the municipal fee of 0,25 Euro per page for any xerox copies made during your visit. With most books we can arrange a short-time lending which allows you to use the public xerox machines in a copy shop across the street, however this option does not work with any of the items in our periodical collection. If you need copies for your research, we advise you bring a digital camera. You will be allowed to make “digital notes” for research reasons; we will charge a nominal fee of 5 Euro for the use of a camera per research day. If you choose this option, please make sure to fill out the respective release form at the begin of your visit. (Please note that for an external order of scans or xerocopies we will charge a higher fee per page. If you are interested, please contact us for more information.)

Some of our resources are only available as digital files. Should you be interested in seeing them, we will provide you with a computer you can use and instruct you how to find your way through the digital archive, and how to open the material. You will not be allowed to digitally store that material; you may, though, take photographs of the screen content.

We have a large collection of recorded sound. You will be able to listen to whatever you choose. We have attached a USB drive to our sound system, thus, if you need a sound copy, make sure to bring a USB stick for these purposes. Copying music to the USB stick will only be possible in real-time; for copyright reasons we do not allow you to make copies of CDs on your computer. Here you can find a database with those of our recordings already catalogued.

Our photo collection comprises nearly 50,000 prints. This material is mostly copyrighted; if you need photos for the use of publication, we will assist you in any way possible to assure you can clear the rights. For print reasons you will have to pay an archival fee and in return receive a high-resolution scan of the respective pictures.

Much of the rarer material in our archive, such as research papers, correspondence, program leaflets and other, has not yet been indexed. We have sorted through many of the boxes, though, and will be able to point you to the boxes which might be interesting to your line of research. We will allow you free access to these boxes in a special room, and provide you with all information necessary to contextualize the content.

We will be available for further advice on your research, so make sure to ask us at one point during your visit to sit down with one of us for a general discussion of your subject. Usually a look from outside can be helpful.

If you need a hotel for your stay, we recommend either the Hotel Donnersberg or the Hotel Regina both of which are about 5 minutes from the Jazzinstitut. There are many more hotels in the city, and public transport is easy. If you need to stay here for a longer period, you might check the Darmstadt website which also lists private rooms.

Darmstadt has a lot to offer culturally. We have a major opera house, a number of museums (the Mathildenhöhe and Landesmuseum being a must) and a lively live music scene. If you are here over the weekend, chances are good that you can attend a concert at our own concert space. Otherwise Frankfurt, Mainz, Heidelberg, Mannheim or Heidelberg are all less than one hour away and easily reachable by train.

If you need any further information, please contact us. We want your stay to be as productive as possible.

We look forward to see you at the Jazzinstitut Darmstadt!

Wolfram Knauer, Doris Schröder, Arndt Weidler

Nutzung des Archivs

Hotclub-OrdnerWir freuen uns auf Ihren Besuch im Jazzinstitut Darmstadt im Rahmen Ihrer Studienarbeit oder Ihres Forschungsprojektes. Um diesen so wirkungsvoll wie möglich zu gestalten, möchten wir Ihnen hier schon einmal einige Informationen darüber geben, wie unsere Sammlungsbestände genutzt werden können.

Das Jazzinstitut beherbergt ein Archiv mit Büchern, Zeitschriften, Dokumenten, persönlichen Briefwechseln, Fotografien, Filmen, aller Arten von Tonaufnahmen und vielen Dingen mehr, die die Geschichte des Jazz von den Anfängen bis in die Gegenwart dokumentieren. Obwohl wir all das Material so gut wie möglich für Sie erschlossen haben, macht es natürlich Sinn, sich auf einen Besuch gut vorzubereiten.

Unsere Öffnungszeiten sind Montag, Dienstag und Donnerstag 10 bis 17 Uhr sowie freitags von 10 bis 14 Uhr. Normalerweise sind wir auch mittwochs anwesend, wenngleich das der Tag ist, den wir gelegentlich für externe Termine nutzen. Daher lohnt es sich vorab auf jeden Fall nachzufragen, ob ein Besuch und zu welchen Zeiten möglich ist.

Die beste Vorbereitung für einen Besuch im Jazzinstitut zu Recherchezwecken besteht darin, vorab unseren Jazz Index zum spezifischen Forschungsinteresse abzufragen. Unser Jazzindex ist eine bibliografische Datenbank insbesondere unserer Zeitschriften- und Buchbestände. Schicken Sie uns ruhig eine E-Mail vor Ihrem Besuch, in der Sie uns (Musiker)Namen oder Gegenstand Ihrer Anfrage benennen. Wir senden den entsprechenden Jazz-Index in Form einer E-Mail an Sie zurück. Dieser Service ist kostenlos. Ein Hinweis: Es macht Sinn einen Ausdruck oder eine digitale Version Ihres Jazz-Indexes für Ihre Recherche in unserer Bibliothek mitzubringen.

Mäntel, Jacken, Taschen dürfen nicht in die Archivräume mitgenommen werden. Wir erlauben Stifte und Schreibpapier, aber auch Computer und/oder Digitalkameras. Es gibt einen überwachten Garderobenbereich, in dem persönliche Dinge deponiert werden können.

Nutzer/innen des Archivs (also Vor-Ort-Nutzer) können sich von uns Fotokopien der ausgewählten Literatur anfertigen lassen. Pro Kopie berechnen wir den kommunalen Tarif von 25 €ct. Die meisten Bücher können kurzzeitig ausgeliehen werden, falls längere Passagen kopiert werden müssen. Ganz in der Nähe gibt es einen Copy-Shop, in dem man günstig eigene Kopien anfertigen kann. Bestände aus der Zeitschriftensammlung werden aber grundsätzlich nicht ausgeliehen. Eine Alternative kann hier eine eigene Digitalkamera sein. Für diese „digitalen“ Notizen aus Recherchegründen berechnen wir eine Pauschale von 5 Euro pro Recherchetag. Die Nutzung ist einer Kamera ist zu Beginn des Aufenthaltes anzumelden und die Pauschale zu entrichten. (Bitte beachten Sie, dass wir für eine Fern-Bestellung von Scans oder Kopien einen höheren Tarif berechnen. Bei Interesse kontaktieren Sie uns bitte.)

Viele unserer Materialien sind nur als digitale Bestände verfügbar. Wir weisen die Nutzer/innen des Jazzinstituts gerne in die Nutzung des digitalen Archivs ein, damit man auf diese Weise Einsicht in die Quellen erhalten kann. Das Kopieren dieser Archiv-Dateien auf Datenträger ist nicht erlaubt; ein Abfotografieren des Computer-Screens aber möglich.

Das Jazzinstitut verfügt über eine große Sammlung an Tonträgern. Sie können sich bei einem Besuch gerne alles anhören. Der Zugang erfolgt weitestgehend selbständig. Sowohl von Vinyl als auch von CD sind Überspielungen ins mp3-Format möglich. Unsere Anlage verfügt über einen USB-Port. USB-Sticks müssen selbst mitgebracht werden. Kopien sind nur in „Echtzeit“ möglich. Aus Gründen des Urheberschutzes sind Überspielungen auf CD oder auf den Computer nicht erlaubt. Zur Vorbereitung finden Sie hier eine Datenbank der bereits erfassten Tonträger.

Unsere Fotosammlung enthält annähernd 50.000 Abzüge. Dieses Material ist weitestgehend urheberrechtlich beschützt. Falls Sie Fotografien aus dem Bestand des Jazzinstituts etwa für eine Veröffentlichung nutzen möchten, helfen wir Ihnen gerne bei der Recherche und Abklärung der Rechte. Für die Bestellung und Verwendung von hochaufgelösten und druckfähigen Bildern aus dem Archiv des Jazzinstituts berechnen wir in jedem Fall eine pauschale Archivgebühr.

Raritäten unserer Sammlung wie ältere Manuskripte, Korrespondenz, Programmhefte und dergleichen werden bislang noch nicht in unserem Jazz-Index aufgeführt. Die meisten der Kisten mit Sammlungsnachlässen wurden von uns aber bereits vorsortiert und erfasst, dadurch können wir Hilfestellung bei der Suche nach bestimmtem Material geben. Diese Sammlungsbestände sind Ihnen in einem eigenen Raum zugänglich. Wir stehen gerne zur Verfügung, wenn es um Fragen der Einordnung dieser Unterlagen geht.

Das gleiche gilt, wenn Sie weitergehenden fachlichen Rat hinsichtlich Ihres Forschungsgegenstandes suchen. Wenn möglich, nehmen wir uns gerne Zeit Ihr Thema mit Ihnen zu besprechen. Manchmal kann ein Blick von „außen“ ja ganz hilfreich bei der Erschließung sein.

Falls Sie während Ihres Besuchs in Darmstadt eine Unterkunft benötigen, empfehlen wir gerne das Hotel Donnersberg oder das Hotel Regina – beide ganz in der Nähe des Jazzinstituts. Natürlich gibt es noch viele andere Möglichkeiten in der Stadt – und mit dem ÖPNV sind wir gut zu erreichen.

Und nicht vergessen: Darmstadt hat auch ansonsten kulturell viel zu bieten: Das Staatstheater ist ein Drei-Sparten-Haus, es gibt das Landesmuseum, natürlich die Darmstädter Mathildenhöhe als Zentrum des Jugendstils – und eine durchaus lebendige Musikszene. Wenn Sie über das Wochenende Darmstadt besuchen, ist das eine gute Gelegenheit, ein Konzert im Jazzinstitut Darmstadt mitzuerleben. Ein Überblick über alle aktuellen Veranstaltungen im Jazzbereich gibt Ihnen der Darmstädter Jazzkalender. Ansonsten sind auch die Städte Frankfurt, Mainz, Heidelberg oder Mannheim nicht weit.

Sollten Sie noch Fragen haben, rufen Sie uns gerne an. Wir möchten, dass Ihr Aufenthalt so produktiv und nachhaltig wie möglich ausfällt.

Wir freuen uns auf Ihren Besuch im Jazzinstitut Darmstadt.

Wolfram Knauer, Doris Schröder, Arndt Weidler