POSITIONEN! Jazz und Politik

Jazz was often seen as a music of resistance, however with its increasing institutionalization some of this political awareness seems to have vanished. It feels as if musicians are more interested in tackling the technical and aesthetic sides of the music while the audience sits back and compares what it hears with what it knows instead of focusing on the unknown, unexpected and perhaps a bit more complex gaze ahead.

Thus, while in the United States, the birthplace of Jazz, many current projects, be it by Vijay Iyer or Kamasi Washington, sport a political note, musicians in Europe seem to be content with jazz being appreciated as art music. However, at a time when all over Europe the social and political achievements of the past decades are being pushed back by new populist movements, all forms of art must face questions of social responsibility again, whether it’s a more conscious position towards climate change, poverty, education, and a global understanding of humanity, whether it’s advocating human dignity on all levels, or taking a clear stance against sexism, racism and any other kind of exclusion: “Diversity”, says Kamasi Washington, “should not be tolerated, it should be celebrated.”

Where, then, do we find such celebration of diversity within contemporary European jazz? How strong is the awareness of musicians for their own political and social responsibility? And why is it that in jazz, the genre with the deepest history of resistance, singing of political justice seems to be looked down upon?

At the 16th Darmstadt Jazzforum we want to ask such questions, in papers, panels, concert lectures, a workshop, an exhibition as well as an ensuing book documentation. We do not think that jazz needs to be converted. Not everything has to be political first. However, as everything will have a political aspect in 2019 as well, we want to talk to musicians, experts, scholars and others about why jazz with its ever-present history of resistance, with improvisation’s seismographic ability to capture present-time discourses, should take a first seat within the canon of contemporary music.

The conference part of the Darmstadt Jazzforum will take place from 3-5 October 2019 at Literaturhaus Darmstadt. It will be flanked by concerts, an exhibition and workshops at other venues and thus involve the whole city in our discourse about the political in jazz.

Call for Papers

We invite scholars, musicians and other experts to suggest papers, panels or artistic interventions. All lectures and panels will be either in German or English. As there will be no simultaneous translation we favor presenters and panelists who will at least be able to understand enough German to follow the discussions. Every presentation may take between 30 and 40 minutes; and we also invite musical interventions to the subject-at-hand which we see as equal contributions to the spoken-word presentations.

Please send your suggestions to jazz@jazzinstitut.de.

[to be continued soon]

POSITIONEN! Jazz und Politik

Jazz wurde immer als eine Musik der Widerständigkeit wahrgenommen. Mit dem Einzug in die Institutionen scheint der Jazz ein wenig seines politischen Bewusstseins verloren zu haben. Musiker*innen beschäftigen sich mehr mit technischen und ästhetischen Fragen; das Publikum sonnt sich eher im vergleichenden Blick zurück, als dass es seine Aufmerksamkeit dem oft schwierigeren – und das nicht immer, weil die Musik schwierig ist –, aber solidarischen Blick nach vorn widmet.

Und während in den USA, dem Geburtsland des Jazz, fast jedes Projekt eine politische Note erhält, von Vijay Iyer bis Kamasi Washington, scheint Europa im selbstgefälligen Feiern von Jazz als Kunstmusik versunken. In Zeiten, in denen in ganz Europa die sozialen und politischen Errungenschaften der letzten Jahrzehnte von einem neuen Populismus zurückgedrängt werden, befasst sich aber auch die Kunst insgesamt wieder verstärkt mit gesellschaftlichen Themen, sei es die bewusstere Haltung gegenüber Klimafragen, Armut, Bildung, das globale Verständnis von Menschlichkeit, das Eintreten für die Menschenwürde auf allen Ebenen, eine klare Haltung gegen Sexismus, Rassismus oder sonstige Ausgrenzung. “Diversity”, sagt Kamasi Washington, “should not be tolerated, it should be celebrated.”

Wo also findet diese Feier der Diversität statt im zeitgenössischen europäischen Jazz? Wie ist es um das Bewusstsein für die eigene politische, gesellschaftliche und soziale Verantwortung des Künstlers im Jazz bestellt? Und warum scheint “politisch Lied” ausgerechnet in dem Genre, das die tiefste Geschichte der Widerständigkeit besitzt, immer noch “garstig Lied” zu sein?

Das 16. Darmstädter Jazzforum setzt sich mit diesen und ähnlichen Fragen auseinander, in Vorträgen, Diskussionspanels, Gesprächskonzerten, einem Workshop, einer Ausstellung zum Thema sowie einer abschließenden Buchdokumentation. Wir wollen den Jazz nicht bekehren. Nicht alles muss zuvorderst politisch sein. Im Wissen aber darum, dass auch in 2019 gilt, dass “alles politisch ist”, wollen wir mit Musiker*innen, Expert*innen und Wissenschaftler*innen darüber sprechen, ob nicht vielleicht gerade die immer präsente politische Kraft des Jazz, die Tatsache also, dass improvisierte Musik ein seismographisch ziemlich empfindliches Abbild der Gegenwart ist, dieser Musik auch 2019 and beyond einen besonders wichtigen Platz im Kanon der aktuellen Musik gebührt.

Der Konferenzteil des Darmstädter Jazzforums findet vom 3. bis 5. Oktober 2019 tagsüber im Literaturhaus Darmstadt statt. Mit den Konzerten, der Ausstellung und Workshops, mit denen wir die Konferenz flankieren, planen wir unterschiedliche Veranstaltungsorte in Darmstadt zu bespielen.


Call for Papers

Wir laden interessierte Wissenschaftler*innen, Musiker*innen, Expert*innen ausdrücklich ein, uns Vorschläge für interessante Vorträge, Podiumsgespräche oder künstlerische Interventionen zu machen.  Vorträge und Panels sollen auf Deutsch oder Englisch gehalten werden; es wäre wünschenswert, wenn auch englischsprachige Beteiligte genügend Deutsch verstünden, um den Diskussionen der Konferenz folgen zu können (keine Simultanübersetzung). Für jeden Programmpunkt stehen zwischen 30 und 40 Minuten zur Verfügung; auch künstlerische Auseinandersetzungen mit der Thematik sehen wir als diskursiven Input an.

Vorschläge, Anregungen bitte an jazz@jazzinstitut.de.

[mehr demnächst hier]